ACT Annual General Meeting Minutes 29 August 2020 3.10 – 3.50pm

2020 – 2021 ACT Committee Voted In			
Aurélie Sheehan	Chairperson		
Jennifer Plaistowe	Secretary		
	PD Coordinator		
Henry Chen	Treasurer		
Vesna Cvjeticanin	Branch Delegate		
Gabrielle Edmonds	Committee member		
Mark Bassett	Committee member		

- 1. Acknowledgment of country and Welcome (Chair)
- 2. Overview of AGM and housekeeping (Secretary)

3. Report from the Chair

Aurélie outlined the challenges that occurred during 2019-2020, and the adaptations that the branch has made in adapting to the response to COVID-19. This involved having online committee meetings and organising virtual PD events.

Events held:

- Branch AGM
- Legal Interpreting: different modes and scenarios
- Trivia night
- Brunch meet and greet
- Interpreting Event: cross-cultural ethics

AUSIT ACT has established a relationship with the ANU: it is hoped that there will be future collaboration.

4. Report from the Treasurer

The ACT Branch conducted three paid PD events during the financial year of 2018 – 2019. Generated a surplus or over \$700 for the financial year.

A surplus was generated at all paid AUSIT events during 2019 – 2020.

5. Report from the Secretary

The ACT Committee adapted quickly to online branch meetings and used a business Zoom account set up by the National Council. When organising an event, the committee was able to use features like break-out rooms, chat messaging, and screen share.

These online events did not substitute for in-person events, as attendees were unable to chat casually and network. We are aware that the response to COVID-19 has presented additional challenges to language professionals in the ACT: this might mean that there is less capacity for volunteer work.

The new administration system, implemented at the national level, is quick and intuitive: office bearers are able to access useful Office Logistics through Wild Apricot.

The ACT had 50 members, as of the AGM. Two new members were welcomed in July

6. Nominations and voting for new committee (Anne Roppola)

2020 – 2021 ACT Committee Voted In			
Aurélie Sheehan	Chairperson		
Jennifer Plaistowe	Secretary		
	PD Coordinator		
Henry Chen	Treasurer		
Vesna Cvjeticanin	Branch Delegate		
Gabrielle Edmonds	Committee member		
Mark Bassett	Committee member		

7. Close of meeting (Chair)

Present at Meeting

First name	Surname	Email	Logged in?
Ta-Yuan	CHEN	dr.henry.chen@gmail.com	Yes
Mark	Bassett	mark.bassett@iinet.net.au	Yes

Tina	Lu	qiyulu66@gmail.com	Yes
Vesna	CVJETICANIN	vesnaflower@gmail.com	Yes
Victor	Xu	victorzxu@yahoo.com.au	Yes
Sunettra	Aphisamaimongkol	sunettra.sc@gmail.com	Yes
Zalei	Chinzah	zaleichinzah@gmail.com	No
Ling	Jin	ling.consultancy@gmail.com	No
Mecia	Freire	mecia.freire@portuguesetranslations.net.au	Yes
Daniel Jose	Freire	daniel.freire@portuguesetranslations.net.au	Yes
Gabrielle	Edmonds	gabime@internode.on.net	Yes
Kristina	Wolf	kw@lingua-direct.com	Yes
Sabine	Bouladon	sabinebouladon@grapevine.net.au	Yes
Willie	Senanayake	willie.s@bigpond.com	Yes
Aurelie	Sheehan	aurelie.sheehan@laureling.com	Yes
Davood	Mobini-Kesheh	davoodmobini@nextchoice.com.au	No
Mozhgan	Meshki	mmeshki@hotmail.com	No
Daniela	Peressini	danienzo@live.com.au	Yes
Wan Kei (Vicky)	Wong	vicwwk@gmail.com	Yes

Jennifer	Plaistowe	jenplaistowe1@gmail.com	Yes
Anne	Roppola	tellervo1@bigpond.com	Yes
Chatrawee	Ratanasomboon	dowchanel@gmail.com	No
Lan	Wen	amywen1210@yahoo.com.au	No
Sameer	Gurung	ersameer150@gmail.com	Yes